pole star logo pole star logo

IMRF Awards 2018 Winners Announced

The International Maritime Rescue Federation has announced the international winners of its IMRF Awards 2018.

The winners are: 

Outstanding Individual Contribution to a Maritime SAR Operation won by Captain Siddarth Sharma, a ship's master from Mumbai, India

Outstanding Team Contribution to a Maritime SAR Operation won by the Crew of KNRM Station Terschelling Paal 8, from Friesland, Netherlands

Innovation and Technology in Maritime Search and Rescue won by Pink Rescue Buoy, developed by the National Sea Rescue Institute in South Africa

Two winners of the Vladimir Maksimov Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Maritime SAR Sector:

John Kooijman, who founded CITRO (Curacao Sea Rescue Organisation)
Captain Nick Guerchev, Chairman and founder of BULSAR, the Bulgarian National Volunteer Maritime Safety Society

People’s Choice Award won by Canadian Coast Guard Rescue Specialists

The judges of the IMRF Awards 2018 were; Michael Vlasto, Former IMRF Chair and Chair of the Awards Judging Panel, Nigel Clifford, General Manager Safety and Response, Maritime New Zealand, Jared Blows, MRCC (Maritime Rescue Coordination Centre) Chief, MRCC Cape Town, South Africa, Stein Solberg, JNCC Stavanger, Norway, Gwynne Lewis, Maritime Product Line Director, Orolia, Nicolai Jarlsby, President, Norwegian Society for Sea Rescue.

The Innovation and Technology Award is proudly sponsored by Pole Star.

“As a testament to Pole Star’s dedication to increasing maritime safety and security, we are delighted to be sponsoring the Innovation & Technology H.E.R.O. award for the second year running. Since our inception 20 years ago, we have worked alongside governments, search and rescue operations, naval operations, and shipping companies, and are thrilled to have the opportunity to honour those who put their lives at risk every day, to go above and beyond the call of duty in saving lives at sea" said Julian Longson, Managing Director of Pole Star.